Home About Us What's on Swarms Education Membership Notices Contacts Gallery

apiculture  n. beekeeping

apiarist n. one who keeps bees

apiary n.  a place where bees are kept

© Okehampton Branch of the Devon Beekeepers Association 2024 - Registered Charity 270675

Branch Library

Members of Okehampton Branch can borrow books from our library.

Message Board

Members can advertise items for sale, request help or publicise bee related events here. To leave a message please email me

Members -

Help make this website useful by contributing.

Have you found a useful website for our LINKS page?

Is there something this site should cover?

Which book do you find helpful?

Have you just discovered a great tip to share?

Do you have a photo that is of interest to beekeepers?

Is there a question you want put to the branch 'experts'?

Let me know

Thinking of Extracting Honey?

Members are reminded that the branch has extractors, filters and a refractometer available for loan. For more information contact Will Pyne, email: will.pyne@btinternet.com

Branch News

Subscription Renewals

You can now renew your 2024 membership and BDI Insurance subscription. The subscription form and detail of fees are available to download on the MEMBERSHIP page.

The Branch Committee

The Branch Committee is elected at the Annual General Meeting (AGM), held in November each year. Committee meetings are held approximately every three months The branch is also represented by committee members at meetings of the DBKA. While the committee is responsible for organising and co-ordinating the business of the branch, for us to be an active and healthy group, it is essential that members contribute time, energy and ideas whenever they can.

Any ideas, comments or feedback you want to make to the committee can be sent via this website.

The Current Branch Committee:

Jim Sampson - President

David Wolley - Chairman and Membership Sec.

Ruth Stainer-Smith - Vice Chair & Educ Officer.

Will Pyne - Secretary & Press Officer

Pip Wilkins - Treasurer

Suzanne Maxwell - Show Secretary

Mark Tanner - Swarm Liaison Officer

Sue Baxter - Branch Librarian

Simon O’Sullivan

Annie Slatcher

President's Cup

Branch president, Jim Sampson, very generously donated a trophy to the branch in 2011 which is called 'The Presidents Cup'. This is to be awarded each year at the AGM to the member who has made an outstanding contribution to the branch.  Jim presented the cup to the following:-

                2011 - Janet Grist

2012 - Ray King.  

2013 - Margaret Harris.  

2014 - Malcolm Craig

2015 - Will Pyne

2016 - Suzanne Maxwell

2017 - Marian Minton

2018 - Ray King

2019 - Simon O’Sullivan

2020 - Malcolm & Nicky Craig

2021 - Margaret Harris

2022 - Liz Ledsham

2023 - Simon O’Sullivan